Young Money: Rise of an Empire Album Worth a Look

By: Harmony Takhar

Young Money’s second album, Young Money: Rise of an Empire, was released on March 11. The record company was founded by Lil Wayne back in 2005. Wayne stepped down in 2007 to give the position to his lifelong friend, Cortez Bryant. Then Mack Maine took the position as president in 2009 to today, while Cortez Bryant became the new COO. Artists signed to this record are Drake, Nicki Minaj, Tyga, Mack Maine, Jae Millz, Cory Gunz, T-Pain, Akon, Torian Sellers, Reginae Carter (Wayne’s daughter), Future, Austin Mahone, Chanel West Coast, Christina Milian, Euro, Flow, Gudda Gudda, Lil Chuckee, Lil Twist, Lourdes Rodriguez, PJ Morton, Shanell, ShortDawg, T-Streets, W3 the Future, and Lil Wayne himself. Former signed artists include Boo, Curren$y, DJ Khaled, Kidd Kidd, Omarion, and Yo Gotti.

The album is said to sell  15,000 copies the first week. The album has 12 tracks and 3 bonus tracks. Reviews for the album are mixed, some saying it’s a 5/5 and others are saying it’s 3/5. Mack Maine announced a couple of months ago that the album would have music from each person signed to the record company, but only about half of the artists were on the album. This created an upset and this also called for some to downgrade the album. Upcoming albums coming from the artists signed the company are Tha Carter V by Lil Wayne, The Pink Print by Nicki Minaj, The Gold Album by Tyga, Nothing is Promised by Jae Millz, and Bad Decisions by Lil Twist.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.