49th Country Music Awards

by Harmony Takhar

The 49th Country Music Awards aired on November 4 on ABC at 8/7c. The show was once again hosted by Keith Paisley and Carrie Underwood. The show featured performances by Lady Antebellum, Zedd, Sam Hunt, Maddie and Tae, Kenny Chesney, Frankie Ballard, Carrie Underwood, Keith Urban, Eric Church, Reba McEntire, RaeLynn, Jason Aldean, Chris Janson, Luke Bryan, Darius Rucker, Jake Owen, Kelsea Ballerini, Zach Brown Band, Cole Swindell, and Florida Georgia Line. The show was just as much as a performance show as an awards show.

And the winners were…

Entertainer of the Year- Luke Bryan

Female Vocalist of the Year- Miranda Lambert

Male Vocalist of the Year- Chris Stapleton

Vocal Group of the Year- Little Big Town

Vocal Duo of the Year- Florida Georgia Line

New Artist of the Year- Chris Stapleton

Album of the Year- Traveller- Chris Stapleton

Single of the Year- Girl Crush- Little Big Town

Song of the Year- Girl Crush- Written by Liz Rose, Lori McKenna, and Hillary Lindsey

Musical Event of the Year- Raise ‘Em Up- Keith Urban ft. Eric Church

Music Video of the Year- Girl in the Country Song- Maddie and Tae

Musician of the Year- Mac McAnally


“Nominees & Winners – 2015 CMA Awards.” 2015 CMA Awards. N.p., n.d. Web. 07 Nov. 2015.

“Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood Return to Host “The 49th Annual CMA Awards” Live from Nashville on the ABC Television Network Wednesday, Nov. 4 – CMA World.” CMA World. N.p., 05 Aug. 2015. Web. 07 Nov. 2015.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.