Mass releases next installment in Throne of Glass series

by Mackenzie Pittman

Looking for a delightful yet captivating novel to read? This September Sarah J. Maas, the author of the New York Times best selling series Throne of Glass, released her newest installment in the series, Tower of Dawn.

The Throne of Glass series follows the life of Celaena Sardothien, an assassin living in Adarlan, the current kingdom brokering power over the land. Throughout the novels you watch Celaena meet friends and make life-altering and world-shattering choices. You learn of her dark past, what she plans to do to gain her freedom, and where life will take her on this stormy journey.

Tower of Dawn is the 6th book in the series and follows the adventures of Celaena’s friends, Chaol Westfall and Nesryn Faliq, on their trip to the Southern continent to fulfill an unfeasible task. In the previous novels Chaol is left suffering from a major spine injury that renders him paralyzed from the waist down. He and Nesryn travel to Antica in hopes of gaining support for their kingdom in a looming war against the Valg and finding a healer to cure Chaol of his disability. While in Antica, Chaol works to cure his physical and emotional damage with a healer named Yrene, while Nesryn tries to convince Sartaq, a prince of Antica, to provide aid in the War. Their progress is hindered by a threat from the Valg against the healers of Antica. Chaol and Nesryn race the clock to save the world from the impending doom of the Valg.

Mass creates a new diverse setting with the introduction of a culture inspired by Genghis Kahn and how he ruled his empire. It was also a breath of fresh air to see Mass address a difficult subject such as Chaol’s disability. For a group to receive representation in such a highly-praised book was welcomed by many readers. Not only did Mass approach the physical strain a disability can cause someone, she also touched on the emotional difficulties. A major part of Chaol’s healing was coming to terms with the horrors he faced when he acquired his injury and forgiving himself for the mistakes he’s made.

“You may look at me with resentment Yrene Towers, and I will not blame you for it. But believe me when I say there is no one in Erilea who loathes me more than I do myself.”

By going through the healing process with Yrene, Chaol is able to gain a positive outlook on his future, and that of the world. Chaol’s revelations resonated with many readers, creating a heartfelt connection between Maas and her fans. So, if you’re searching for an enticing and mind-blowing novel that caters to the senses, pick up a Sarah J. Maas book. Trust me, you will not regret it.

You can learn more about Sarah J. Mass and her series on her website.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.